COUNTY OF MARIN INTEGRATED PEST MANAGEMENT COMMISSION 3501 CIVIC CENTER DRIVE SUITE 330 MINUTES FOR MEETING JANUAY 24, 2020

BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT: Kraemer Winslow

Thomas Perry Rika Gopinath Myrto Ashe Scott Sherman Nannette Londeree Steven Swain Susan Hoops

ABSENT: Scott Sherman

1. CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order at 9:00 a.m. by Chair Winslow. Chair Winslow asked everyone to introduce themselves and the work that they do outside of the commission and welcomed the new Commissioner.

2. PUBLIC COMMENT

A member of the public spoke about Glyphosate

3. APPROVE MINUTES FOR MEETING HELD ON OCTOBER 25, 2019

M/S Perry/Gopinath

AYES: ALL NAYS: NONE

ABSENT: Scott Sherman

4. ELECTION OF OFFICERS FOR 2020

The Ad Hoc Committee recommended Scott Sherman for Chair, Kevin Sadlier as Vice Chair, and Tom Perry for 2nd Chair.

M/S Swain/Londeree to approve the committee's selection for officers

AYES: ALL NAYS: NONE

ABSENT: Scott Sherman

5. IPM COORDINATOR'S 2019 FOURTH QUARTER REPORT

Jim Chayka presented an IPM 4th Quarter Report. Report included 4 Quarter Usage Summary, 4th Quarter Non-Chemical and 4th Quarter Exemptions and Violations Summary.

Total Volunteer hours is 2982, Total Contract Labor hours is 2564 and total Staff Labor hours is 4976 for the 4th Quarter.

There were no Landscape Pesticide Applications in October or November 2019.

There were no exemptions or violations.

6. 2019 ANNUAL IPM COORDINATORS REPORT AND 2020 ALLOWED PRODUCTS LIST

Staff presented and reviewed the 2020 Allowed Products list in compliance with the County IPM Ordinance and the Allowed Pesticides. Staff described exemption process involved for potential use of products not on Allowed Products List. The exemption process involves submitting description of purpose and rationale to Environmental Health department and seeking approval for s specific application.

MS/Gopinath/Perry approved the 2020 Allowed Products List with the addition of Soybean Oil and the Annual IPM Coordinators Report.

AYES: ALL NAYS: NONE

ABSENT: Scott Sherman

7. ANNUAL IPM AWARDS

The commission reviewed nominations and formally vote to award the 2019 Marin County IPM Award. Commissioners Sadlier, Perry and Ash who were on the subcommittee recommends Barbara Bogart for the award.

M/S Gopinath/Hoop approved the recommendation from the committee to give the award to Barbara Bogart.

AYES: ALL NAYS: NONE

ABSENT: Scott Sherman

8. COMMSISSION MEMBER COMMENTS

4 Commissioners came forward with comments

M/S Ashe/Gopinath moved to adjourn the meeting

AYES: ALL NAYS: NONE

ABSENT: Scott Sherman